Paris Is Not Dead: Surviving Hypergentrification in the City of Light (Hardcover)

Paris Is Not Dead: Surviving Hypergentrification in the City of Light By Cole Stangler Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 4-7 Business Days

Description


A street-level people's view of one of the world's beloved cities, in a stunning debut that blends cutting-edge reporting and sweeping political analysis of a changing Paris

"Working-class Paris is still around today, as real as the cobblestones, gray zinc roofs, and dusty railyards cutting through its neighborhoods." --from the introduction

The Paris of popular imagination is lined with cobblestone streets and stylish caf's, a beacon for fashionistas and well-heeled tourists. But French-American journalist Cole Stangler, celebrated for his reporting on Paris and French politics, argues that the beating heart of the City of Light lies elsewhere--in its striving, working-class districts whose residents are being priced out of their hometown today.

Paris Is Not Dead explores the past, present, and future of the City of Light through the lens of class conflict, highlighting the outsized role of immigrants in shaping the city's progressive, cosmopolitan, and open-minded character--at a time when politics nationwide can feel like they're shifting in the opposite direction. This is the Paris many tourists too often miss: immigrant-heavy districts such as the 18th arrondissement, where crowded street markets still define everyday life. Stangler brings this view of the city to life, combining gripping, street-level reportage, stories of today's working-class Parisians, recent history, and a sweeping analysis of the larger forces shaping the city.


In the tradition of Lucy Sante and Mike Davis, Paris Is Not Dead offers a bottom-up portrait of one of the world's most vital urban centers--and a call to action to Francophiles and all who care about the future of cities everywhere.

About the Author


Cole Stangler is a Paris-based journalist. A writer and producer at the international news network France 24, he has also published work in the New York Times, the Washington Post, The Guardian, Foreign Policy, The Nation, Jacobin, The Atlantic, Dissent, VICE, and the New Republic. He is the author of Paris Is Not Dead (The New Press).
Product Details
ISBN: 9781620977828
ISBN-10: 1620977826
Publisher: New Press
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English