Futuromania: Electronic Dreams, Desiring Machines, and Tomorrow's Music Today (Paperback)

Futuromania: Electronic Dreams, Desiring Machines, and Tomorrow's Music Today By Simon Reynolds Cover Image
Usually Ships in 4-7 Business Days


A collection of writing by Simon Reynolds, centered on music that seemed, in its moment, to prefigure the Future
Simon Reynolds's first book in eight years is a celebration of music that feels like a taste of tomorrow. Sounds that prefigure pop music's future—the vanguard genres and heroic innovators whose discoveries eventually get accepted by the wider mass audience. But it's also about the way music can stir anticipation for a thrillingly transformed world just around the corner: a future that might be utopian or dystopian, but at least will be radically changed and exhilaratingly other.  
Starting with an extraordinary chapter on Giorgio Moroder and Donna Summer, taking in illuminating profiles of Ryuichi Sakamoto, Boards of Canada, Burial, and Daft Punk, and arguing for Auto-Tune as the defining sound of 21st century pop, Futuromania shapes over two dozen essays and interviews into a chronological narrative of machine-music from the 1970s to now. Reynolds explores the interface between pop music and science fiction's utopian dreams and nightmare visions, always emphasizing the quirky human individuals abusing the technology as much as the era-defining advances in electronic hardware and digital software.  
A tapestry of the scenes and subcultures that have proliferated in that febrile, sexy, and contested space where man meets machine, Futuromania is an enthused listening guide that will propel readers towards adventures in sound. There is a lifetime of electronic listening here.

About the Author

Simon Reynolds is the author of Energy Flash: A Journey through Rave Music and Dance Culture, Blissed Out: The Raptures of Rock, The Sex Revolts: Gender, Rebellions and Rock and Roll (co-written with Joy Press), Rip it Up and Start Again: Postpunk 1978 – 1984, and, most recently, Bring the Noise: Twenty Years of Hip Hop and Hip Rock.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780306833786
ISBN-10: 0306833786
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 416
Language: English