Invisible Kitties: A Feline Study of Fluid Mechanics or The Spurious Incidents of the Cats in the Night-Time (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Invisible Kitties: A Feline Study of Fluid Mechanics or The Spurious Incidents of the Cats in the Night-Time By Yu Yoyo, Jeremy Tiang (Translated by) Cover Image
By Yu Yoyo, Jeremy Tiang (Translated by)
$22.99
Coming Soon - PRE-ORDER NOW

Description


In this whimsical and inventive debut—perfect for fans of The Guest Cat and Calvino’s Invisible Cities—a young couple’s daily life is disrupted by their newly adopted cat, who soon initiates them into the wondrous world of felines.

Equal parts magical and humorous, Invisible Kitties tells the story of a young couple that one day accidentally comes into possession of a delightful, playful kitten. Bright eyed and bushy tailed, this new companion, aptly named Cat, upturns the routine of the narrator and her husband in their cramped apartment, and soon they find their existence forever altered as they gradually gain insight into the fantastical world of cats.

Every cat contains multitudes... Charting the couple’s ever-evolving relationship with cats –some they live with, others who exist solely in their imagination– Invisible Kitties introduces us to a coterie of extraordinary, physics-defying, death-defying cats. They drop from the sky, they grow from the soil, they transmute. They fly, flow, and evaporate. The young couple’s everyday life, often eclipsed by the drama of cats, offers a gentle glimpse of how joy can suddenly sneak into our lives.

Composed of sixty chapters written in Yu Yoyo’s elegant and witty style and complemented by the author’s own illustrations— Invisible Kitties is a celebration of ordinary life and the felines we love, deftly playing with the invisible boundaries between reality and imagination.

Translated from the Chinese by Jeremy Tiang 

About the Author


Yu Yoyo (1990-) is an acclaimed poet and visual/audio artist from Sichuan, China. She started publishing poetry at the age of fourteen, and earned critical attention by the age of sixteen. Her work has been featured in various literary journals and anthologies. She is the author of the poetry collections Seven Years, Me as Bait, wind can't, and Cat is a Cloud. She won the 2017 Henry Luce Translation Fellowship and her poems have been translated into English, Korean, Russian, French, Japanese, and Swedish. A selection of her poems was translated and published by Poetry Translation Centre in her first English collection, My Tenantless Body. Invisible Kitties is her first novel. She lives in Chengdu.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063336223
ISBN-10: 0063336227
Publisher: HarperVia
Publication Date: October 1st, 2024
Pages: 176
Language: English